Camping and Canoeing

Camping and Canoeing

It's always in these dreary tailings of winter I long for the canoe, paddle and portage. And while I live in Minnesota, much to my wife's chagrin, I say that last word long with full Canadian pronunciation.

We have three daughters and the highlights of my summer often revolve around a loud clanky entry on an inland lake or river with snacks, kids, and a wild desire to explore our natural resources.

This can often include a slow paddle around a nearby lake looking for fishing line caught in trees (with the hopes of a nice dangling lure or hook), animals like muskrats dipping in and out near the shore or a heron cautiously eyeballing us before it finally decides to lift its magnificent wings and take flight.

When we aren't paddling about it in dinged up 17ft alumicraft, we are often exploring a shore or wooded trail. On some weekends, if we aren't already booked, I'll get a campsite at nearby State or Regional park. We cook simple food, snack on salty garbage and I make "Bug Juice" (which is just sugar free Kool-Aid with way more powder than called for).